ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Activité Loisirs

Fondation Marconi

Salvan

Guglielmo Marconi made the first wireless transmissions in 1895 from Salvan, with assistance from local resident Maurice Gay-Balmaz.  

A century later, the Marconi Foundation was created to perpetuate the memory of the Italian physicist. A public space in the centre of the village tells the story of his experiments, and gives visitors some fascinating insights into the world of telecommunications.
 

HISTORY

The exhibition pays tribute to the inventor Guglielmo Marconi, the illustrious guest who saved more than 700 passengers on the Titanic, and to Alexis Bochatay, the chef from Salvan, who was on board and died in the sinking.

In the summer of 1895, Marconi went to the "climatic" resort of Salvan sur Martigny, whose reputation had spread far beyond the borders of Switzerland. Assisted by Maurice Gay-Balmaz, a young SaIvanin of about ten years old, he worked there for nearly a month and managed to transmit a message more than 1.5 km from the point of transmission. This was one of the first wireless telegraphy links.

The Marconi Foundation is now paying tribute to this Nobel Prize winner and is addressing the tragedy of the Titanic, which highlighted the humanitarian role of wireless technology. Marconi's invention enabled the Titanic to send out SOS (Save our Souls) and CQD (Come Quickly Distress) distress messages. More than 700 survivors were saved.
Alexis Bochatay, a cook on the liner, born on 27 November 1881 in Granges sur Salvan (Valais), disappeared at sea off the coast of Newfoundland when the Titanic sank on the night of 14 to 15 April 1912. Nothing predestined this farmer's son and carpenter to follow such a path.

 

Exhibition

  • Radios and photos from 1895 to 1950 
  • Videos 
  • Audio recordings 
  • Model of the liner Titanic 
  • Exceptional Marconi TSF equipment from the Titanic


The Marconi Foundation organises four guided tour programmes, which include a tour of the radio museum only, and a museum tour combined, according to preference, with the educational trail and/or the Moulin Fine flour mill. In addition to these programmes, the Foundation can provide a seminar room or organise a meal at a restaurant in Salvan. Tailored programmes for groups are also available on request.


An educational trail also pays tribute to him.

Contact

Fondation Marconi
Fondation Marconi

Schedule

  • Du 15 Jul 2022 au 15 Aug 2022
    Every day
    De 14:00 à 18:00

Open by reservation from 16 August 2021 to 14 July 2022

info@fondation-marconi.ch

http://www.fondation-marconi.ch/

Rue Marconi 1
1922 Salvan



Location / Access

GPS coordinates :
46.12098288044175, 7.020912766456605


Retour à la demande de réservation

Form

Please send your request with this form.

  • Sir
  • Madam
warning check_circle_outline
  • Switerland
  • France
  • Other
warning check_circle_outline

ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Activité Loisirs

Fondation Marconi

Salvan

En 1895, Guglielmo Marconi réalisait à Salvan, avec son assistant local Maurice Gay-Balmaz, les première s transmissions sans fil.  

Cent ans après ces premiers essais, une fondation est créée afin de perpétuer le souvenir de ce physicien italien. Un espace public aménagé au centre du village de Salvan retrace ses expériences et invite les visiteurs à plonger dans l’univers des télécommunications.
 

L'HISTOIRE 

L'exposition rend hommage à l’inventeur Guglielmo Marconi, hôte illustre grâce à qui plus de 700 passagers du Titanic purent être sauvés, et à Alexis Bochatay, chef-cuisinier de Salvan, embarqué à bord et décédé dans le naufrage.


Durant l'été 1895, Marconi se rendit dans la station «climatérique» de Salvan sur Martigny dont la réputation avait largement dépassé les frontières de la Suisse. Secondé par Maurice Gay-Balmaz, un jeune SaIvanin d'une dizaine d'années, il y travailla durant près d'un mois et parvint à transmettre un message à plus de 1,5 km du point d'émission. C'était l'une des premières liaisons T.S.F. (télégraphie sans fil)

La Fondation Marconi rend aujourd'hui hommage à ce Prix Nobel et aborde la tragédie du Titanic qui mit en évidence le rôle humanitaire de la TSF. L'invention de Marconi permit en effet au Titanic de lancer des messages de détresse SOS (Save our Souls) et CQD (Come Quickly Distress). Plus de 700 survivants purent ainsi être sauvés.
Alexis Bochatay, cuisinier sur le paquebot, né le 27 novembre 1884, aux Granges sur Salvan (Valais), disparaît en mer au large de Terre Neuve lors du naufrage du Titanic, dans la nuit du 14 au 15 avril 1912. Rien ne prédestinait pourtant ce fils de paysan et menuisier à pareille trajectoire.


 

L'EXPOSITION

Ouvert du 15 juillet au 15 août
Radios et photos de 1895 à 1950
Vidéos Enregistrements audio
Maquette du paquebot le Titanic
Appareils Marconi TSF exceptionnels du Titanic
 

VISITE SUR RÉSERVATION

La Fondation Marconi met sur pied quatre formules de visites guidées incluant le musée de la radio seul ou combiné, à choix, avec le sentier didactique ou le Moulin Fine.
Ces offres peuvent être complétées avec la mise à disposition d’une salle de séminaire ou l’organisation d’un repas dans un restaurant de Salvan. Des programmes sur mesure sont également possibles pour les groupes sur demande.

Contact

Fondation Marconi

Horaires

  • Du 15 juil. 2022 au 15 août 2022
    Tous les jours
    De 14:00 à 18:00

Ouvert sur réservation du 16 aout 2021 au 14 juillet 2022

info@fondation-marconi.ch

http://www.fondation-marconi.ch/

Rue Marconi 1
1922 Salvan



Emplacement / Accès

Coordonnées GPS :
46.12098288044175, 7.020912766456605


Retour à la demande de réservation

Formulaire

Veuillez adresser votre demande via ce formulaire.

  • Monsieur
  • Madame
warning check_circle_outline
  • Suisse
  • France
  • Autre
warning check_circle_outline