ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Exhibition

Exposition "Le Titanic et Marconi"

Salvan

From 15 Jul 2022 to 15 Aug 2022

14:00 - 18:00

Steeve Lonfat and his son William have built the Titanic in LEGO which will be exhibited this summer in the Fondation Marconi. 60'000 LEGO bricks, 128 Kg, 3m long, it is on a scale of 1:90.
3 years were necessary between the study of the plans, the physical tests of resistance, the assembly of the parts and finally the transport and the setting under case to protect it.
 

HISTORY

The exhibition pays tribute to the inventor Guglielmo Marconi, the illustrious guest who saved more than 700 passengers on the Titanic, and to Alexis Bochatay, the chef from Salvan, who was on board and died in the sinking.

In the summer of 1895, Marconi went to the "climatic" resort of Salvan sur Martigny, whose reputation had spread far beyond the borders of Switzerland. Assisted by Maurice Gay-Balmaz, a young SaIvanin of about ten years old, he worked there for nearly a month and managed to transmit a message more than 1.5 km from the point of transmission. This was one of the first wireless telegraphy links.

The Marconi Foundation is now paying tribute to this Nobel Prize winner and is addressing the tragedy of the Titanic, which highlighted the humanitarian role of wireless technology. Marconi's invention enabled the Titanic to send out SOS (Save our Souls) and CQD (Come Quickly Distress) distress messages. More than 700 survivors were saved.
Alexis Bochatay, a cook on the liner, born on 27 November 1881 in Granges sur Salvan (Valais), disappeared at sea off the coast of Newfoundland when the Titanic sank on the night of 14 to 15 April 1912. Nothing predestined this farmer's son and carpenter to follow such a path.

The exhibition consists of:

  • Radios and photos from 1895 to 1950 
  • Videos 
  • Audio recordings 
  • Model of the liner Titanic 
  • Exceptional Marconi TSF equipment from the Titanic

Tarifs

Admission - CHF 5.00
AVS/students - CHF 3.00
Children (-16 years) - free

Flyer

Contact

Fondation Marconi
Fondation Marconi

Schedule

  • Du 15 Jul 2022 au 15 Aug 2022
    Every day
    De 14:00 à 18:00

info@fondation-marconi.ch

http://www.fondation-marconi.ch/

Rue Marconi 1
1922 Salvan



Location / Access

GPS coordinates :
46.12093578211421, 7.0208770035606


Look also

ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Exposition

Exposition "Le Titanic et Marconi"

Salvan

Du 15 juil. 2022 au 15 août 2022

14:00 - 18:00

Steeve Lonfat et son fils William ont réalisé le Titanic en LEGO; celui-ci est désormais exposé à la Fondation Marconi
60'000 briques de LEGO, 128 kg, 3m de longueur; il est à l'échelle 1:90.
3 ans ont été nécessaires entre l'étude des plans, les tests physiques de résistance, le montage des pièces et finalement le transport et mise sous écrin pour le protéger.

 

L'histoire 

L'exposition rend hommage à l’inventeur Guglielmo Marconi, hôte illustre grâce à qui plus de 700 passagers du Titanic purent être sauvés, et à Alexis Bochatay, chef-cuisinier de Salvan, embarqué à bord et décédé dans le naufrage.

Durant l'été 1895, Marconi se rendit dans la station «climatérique» de Salvan sur Martigny dont la réputation avait largement dépassé les frontières de la Suisse. Secondé par Maurice Gay-Balmaz, un jeune SaIvanin d'une dizaine d'années, il y travailla durant près d'un mois et parvint à transmettre un message à plus de 1,5 km du point d'émission. C'était l'une des premières liaisons T.S.F. (télégraphie sans fil).

La Fondation Marconi rend aujourd'hui hommage à ce Prix Nobel et aborde la tragédie du Titanic qui mit en évidence le rôle humanitaire de la TSF. L'invention de Marconi permit en effet au Titanic de lancer des messages de détresse SOS (Save our Souls) et CQD (Come Quickly Distress). Plus de 700 survivants purent ainsi être sauvés.
Alexis Bochatay cusinier sur le paquebot .  né le 27 novembre 1881 aux Granges sur Salvan (Valais), disparaît en mer au large de Terre Neuve lors du naufrage du Titanic , dans la nuit du 14 au 15 avril 1912. Rien ne prédestinait pourtant ce fils de paysan et menuisier à pareille trajectoire.

 

L'expostion est composée de :

  • Radios et photos de 1895 à 1950 
  • Vidéos 
  • Enregistrements audio 
  • Maquette du paquebot le Titanic 
  • Appareils Marconi TSF exceptionnels du Titanic

Tarifs

Entrée - CHF 5.-
AVS/étudiant - CHF 3.-
Enfants (-16 ans) - gratuit

Flyer

Contact

Fondation Marconi

Horaires

  • Du 15 juil. 2022 au 15 août 2022
    Tous les jours
    De 14:00 à 18:00

info@fondation-marconi.ch

http://www.fondation-marconi.ch/

Rue Marconi 1
1922 Salvan



Emplacement / Accès

Coordonnées GPS :
46.12093578211421, 7.0208770035606