ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Exhibition

Exposition "Le Titanic et Marconi"

Salvan

From 15 Jul 2022 to 15 Aug 2022

14:00 - 18:00

Steeve Lonfat and his son William have built the Titanic in LEGO which will be exhibited this summer in the Fondation Marconi. 60'000 LEGO bricks, 128 Kg, 3m long, it is on a scale of 1:90.
3 years were necessary between the study of the plans, the physical tests of resistance, the assembly of the parts and finally the transport and the setting under case to protect it.
 

HISTORY

The exhibition pays tribute to the inventor Guglielmo Marconi, the illustrious guest who saved more than 700 passengers on the Titanic, and to Alexis Bochatay, the chef from Salvan, who was on board and died in the sinking.

In the summer of 1895, Marconi went to the "climatic" resort of Salvan sur Martigny, whose reputation had spread far beyond the borders of Switzerland. Assisted by Maurice Gay-Balmaz, a young SaIvanin of about ten years old, he worked there for nearly a month and managed to transmit a message more than 1.5 km from the point of transmission. This was one of the first wireless telegraphy links.

The Marconi Foundation is now paying tribute to this Nobel Prize winner and is addressing the tragedy of the Titanic, which highlighted the humanitarian role of wireless technology. Marconi's invention enabled the Titanic to send out SOS (Save our Souls) and CQD (Come Quickly Distress) distress messages. More than 700 survivors were saved.
Alexis Bochatay, a cook on the liner, born on 27 November 1881 in Granges sur Salvan (Valais), disappeared at sea off the coast of Newfoundland when the Titanic sank on the night of 14 to 15 April 1912. Nothing predestined this farmer's son and carpenter to follow such a path.

The exhibition consists of:

  • Radios and photos from 1895 to 1950 
  • Videos 
  • Audio recordings 
  • Model of the liner Titanic 
  • Exceptional Marconi TSF equipment from the Titanic

Tarifs

Admission - CHF 5.00
AVS/students - CHF 3.00
Children (-16 years) - free

Flyer

Contact

Fondation Marconi
Fondation Marconi

Schedule

  • Du 15 Jul 2022 au 15 Aug 2022
    Every day
    De 14:00 à 18:00

info@fondation-marconi.ch

http://www.fondation-marconi.ch/

Rue Marconi 1
1922 Salvan



Location / Access

GPS coordinates :
46.12093578211421, 7.0208770035606


Look also

ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Ausstellung

Exposition "Le Titanic et Marconi"

Salvan

Von 15 Jul 2022 bis 15 Aug 2022

14:00 - 18:00

Steeve Lonfat und sein Sohn William haben die Titanic in Lego gebaut, die diesen Sommer im Museum ausgestellt wird.
60'000 Lego-Steine, 128 Kg, 3m lang, im Massstab 1:90.
3 Jahre waren nötig zwischen dem Studium der Pläne, den physikalischen Tests der Widerstandsfähigkeit, dem Zusammenbau der Teile und schliesslich dem Transport und der Unterbringung in einer Kiste, um sie zu schützen.


 

DIE GESCHICHTE

Die Ausstellung würdigt den Erfinder Guglielmo Marconi, der mehr als 700 Passagiere auf der Titanic rettete, und Alexis Bochatay, den Koch aus Salvan, der an Bord war und beim Untergang ums Leben kam.

Im Sommer 1895 begab sich Marconi in den "Luftkurort" Salvan sur Martigny, dessen Ruf sich weit über die Grenzen der Schweiz hinaus verbreitet hatte. Unterstützt von Maurice Gay-Balmaz, einem jungen SaIvaner von etwa zehn Jahren, arbeitete er dort fast einen Monat lang und schaffte es, eine Nachricht mehr als 1,5 km vom Sendeort entfernt zu übermitteln. Es war eine der ersten drahtlosen Telegrafieverbindungen.

Heute würdigt die Marconi-Stiftung den Nobelpreisträger und geht auf die Titanic-Tragödie ein, die die humanitäre Rolle der Funktechnologie deutlich machte. Marconis Erfindung ermöglichte es der Titanic, SOS- (Save our Souls) und CQD-Notrufe (Come Quickly Distress) auszusenden. Mehr als 700 Überlebende konnten gerettet werden.
Alexis Bochatay, ein Koch auf dem Linienschiff, geboren am 27. November 1881 in Granges sur Salvan (Wallis), verschwand auf See vor der Küste Neufundlands, als die Titanic in der Nacht vom 14. auf den 15. April 1912 sank. Nichts prädestinierte diesen Sohn eines Bauern und Zimmermanns für einen solchen Weg.

 

Die Ausstellung setzt sich zusammen aus:

  • Radios und Fotos von 1895 bis 1950 
  • Videos 
  • Audio-Aufnahmen 
  • Modell des Linienschiffs Titanic 
  • Außergewöhnliche Marconi TSF-Ausrüstung von der Titanic

Tarifs

Eintritt - CHF 5.00
AVS/Studenten - CHF 3.00
Kinder (-16 Jahre) - gratis

Flyer

Contact

Fondation Marconi
Fondation Marconi2

Schedule

  • Du 15 Jul 2022 au 15 Aug 2022
    annuaire_ficheTousLesJours
    De 14:00 à 18:00

info@fondation-marconi.ch

http://www.fondation-marconi.ch/

Rue Marconi 1
1922 Salvan



Location / Zugang

GPS-Koordinaten :
46.12093578211421, 7.0208770035606


Look also