ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Leisure activities

Cascade de la Pissevache

Miéville (Vernayaz)

A source of life for the region
Long before the tourism boom, the Salanfe waterfall was of invaluable service to the region’s inhabitants, who were able to benefit from its hydraulic force. In the late 18th century, a watermill powering a trip hammer and saw were brought into operation.
One hundred years later, a hydroelectric station was built at the top of the waterfall and a water intake line was installed further up the gorge to power the turbines.

 

The Pissevache, a 116-metre-high natural wonder
The local expression “il pleut comme vache qui pisse” (literally “rain like a pissing cow”) is said to have inspired a passer- by to rename the Salanfe waterfall as the Pissevache. From the 1860s, tourists began to visit the Trient Valley, and viewing platforms were installed half-way up the waterfall. The magnificent cascade of water also encouraged artists to immortalise it, thus contributing to its international renown.

 

The waterfall becomes a political battlefield
In 1945, a project to build a dam on the Salanfe plateau at an altitude of 1,900 metres (which would reduce the flow of the waterfall) sparked outrage among part of the local population and associations for the protection of natural heritage. Opponents of the project saw it as a violation of one of the country’s most beautiful sites.
The issue was brought before the cantonal and federal authorities, and after several months of discussion and interpellations, authorisation to flood the plateau was given. The dam was constructed from 1947 to 1950 and this considerably reduced the flow of the waterfall. Today, the size of the Pissevache varies depending on precipitation.

 

  • TripAdvisor

Contact


Location / Access

GPS coordinates :
46.144094586856035, 7.028095722198487


Related articles

ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Activité Loisirs

Cascade de la Pissevache

Miéville (Vernayaz)

Une source de vie pour la région
Bien avant son développement touristique, la cascade de Salanfe a rendu de précieux services aux habitants, qui ont utilisé sa force hydraulique à leur avantage. C’est ainsi qu’à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, un moulin-battoir, un martinet et une scie à eau sont mis en service.
Un siècle plus tard, une usine électrique est construite au sommet de la cascade, et une prise d’eau est aménagée plus haut dans la gorge pour permettre le turbinage des machines.
 

La Pissevache, splendeur naturelle haute de 116 mètres
Le dicton populaire «Il pleut comme vache qui pisse» aurait inspiré un passant, qui aurait renommé «Pissevache » la cascade de Salanfe. A partir des années 1860, la vallée du Trient voit affluer de nombreux touristes, et des galeries à mi-hauteur de la cascade sont installées. L’imposante chute d’eau impressionne également les artistes, qui l’immortalisent et lui confèrent une reconnaissance internationale.
 

Bataille politique autour de la cascade
En 1945, le projet de construire un barrage sur le plateau de Salanfe, situé à 1900 mètres – privant ainsi la cascade de son débit –, suscite l’indignation des associations de défense du patrimoine et d’une partie de la population. Les opposants y voient une atteinte à l’un des plus beaux sites du pays.
Les autorités cantonales et fédérales sont saisies et, au terme de plusieurs mois de discussions et d’interpellations, l’autorisation d’inonder le vallon est accordée. La construction, qui se déroule entre 1947 et 1950, diminue considérablement le débit de la cascade. De nos jours, celui-ci varie en fonction des précipitations.

 

Contact

Vallée du Trient Tourisme

info@valleedutrient.ch

https://www.valleedutrient.ch/

Le Gilliod 27
1929 Trient


Réseaux sociaux


Emplacement / Accès

Coordonnées GPS :
46.144094586856035, 7.028095722198487